The aura has seven main focuses of energy, called chakras. These chakras house focused and concentrated energy. Each chakra corresponds to one of the endocrine glands of the body and run upwards along the spinal chord. They are a link between the physical and auric (or etheric) bodies. Chakra is a sankrit word meaning wheel. They are called this because chakras are similar wheels in the fact that they are spinning vortexes of energy. The diagram above shows the seven main chakras in the body and there corresponding colors. The lower centres are linked with the body and the higher centre with spiritual qualities. Each chakra has a function.

Click here for a brief description of each of the seven main chakras